The Delta-8 is for sale at gas stations, vape stores, hemp or CBD stores and other outlets. It's also marketed on social media and is quite easy to buy online. And, as with other substances, such as alcohol, people 18 or 21 years old can buy and sell it to younger children. Delta-8 is legal in Alabama and is not considered a banned controlled substance after the approval of Senate Bill 225, which legalized hemp and hemp-derived compounds, coinciding with the federal Farm Bill.
In addition, state law doesn't always control Delta 8 brands and distributors, so consumers must be at least 21 years old to purchase Delta 8 products. Delta-8 is legal in Oregon, but is regulated by the Oregon Alcoholic Beverages and Cannabis Commission (OLCC) following the approval of House Bill 3000, signed into law by Governor Kate Brown. Under state law, delta-8 is legal in New Hampshire and is not considered a banned controlled substance following the passage of House Bill 459, which broadly legalized hemp and hemp-derived compounds, including delta-8.There are no federal laws that regulate the minimum age for buying Delta 8 THC, but state laws require buyers to be 21 years of age or older. Delta-8 derived from hemp is not considered an illegal substance controlled by the state and is perfectly legal under state law, which coincides with federal law after the approval of legislative document 1159. Delta-8 is not legal in Vermont following an announcement by the Vermont Agriculture, Farms and Markets Agency (AAFM), which oversees and regulates the state hemp program.
Delta-8 is legal in North Carolina and is not classified as a controlled substance under state law following the passage of Senate Bill 352. The sale of any product with a THC level greater than 0.5 mg is legal for adults over 21 years of age, unless the user holds a medical marijuana card under 21 years of age but over 18. The passage of this bill stated that hemp-derived products, such as THC delta 8, can be used legally in the United States as long as they are within the 0.3% limit. However, recreational marijuana for adults over 21 years of age is legal in Montana, although it's not clear if delta-8 derived from marijuana is allowed under the same cannabis laws. Delta-8 is perfectly legal in Missouri and does not classify it as a controlled substance after the approval of Bill 2034 by the House of Representatives, which legalized hemp and hemp-derived compounds. Delta-8 is illegal in North Dakota and is considered a controlled substance by state law after the passage of Bill 1045 by the North Dakota House of Representatives.
New Mexico also legalized recreational marijuana for adults over 21 years of age following the New Mexico Cannabis Regulation Act, which means that delta-8 derived from marijuana is also legal under state law. Hemp-derived delta-8 is legal in Ohio and is not classified as a controlled substance under state law following the approval of Ohio Senate Bill 57, which legalized hemp and hemp compounds, including delta-8.